Help Needed

Hello everyone! I am in desperate need of some recommendations.

I am not an expert on C. elegans. In fact, I have never worked with them. However, because of my interest in physiology and metabolism,
I decided to take on a senior independent study project where I study C. elegans lifespan in response to various stress conditions, specifically focusing on
certain genetic knockouts. I have prepared extensively for this project as part of my school’s independent study program, doing the necessary research
on my specific topic as well as studying protocols. However, as I have said, I have never worked with them formally. Near the end of this past semester,
I tried worm transfer a few times (unsuccessfully) and learned how to prepare, chunk and maintain OP50 plates. Through this, I realized just how much
practice I will need before working efficiently with the organism, specifically in relation to the whole scoring process, and I became generally anxious
about the prospect of the coming year.

This anxiety has reached a peak this summer, considering new positive, non-academic developments in my life that I wish to work towards during this coming school
year, combined with the prospect of balancing a tough class schedule AND this independent study project.

My question is, how tough will this year be for me? I know you all are biased towards C. elegans research, but think back to when you began: Will I truly
be able to pursue other aspects of life while getting adequate sleep (6 hours a night will do) as someone quickly learning to work with C. elegans and then
diving headfirst into a project?

Most importantly, what sort of a daily time commitment should I expect? I plan to score perhaps once every two days during each assay, and I will need
to do maintenance procedures, of course, a few times a week if I am not mistaken. I am dedicated to whatever task is at hand in my life, and I am