How many hermaphrodites will a single male mate with successfully?

How many hermaphrodites will a single hermaphrodite mate with successfully? Say if there is a population of 100 synchronous animals from L1 onward and 1 animals is a male.
I realize that the male may try to mate unsuccessfully more then once, but how successful would it be (on average)? If you know a specific reference, please post that too.
Thanks in advance and happy worming! :slight_smile:

Fixed that for you.

Probably no specific reference for this exact question, but it would be fun if we could pose questions like this and ask members of the forum to try and answer them experimentally…I think it’d be fun. Any takers for the challenge?

I’d imagine it’d be ridiculously hard to test this with exactly 99 hermaphrodites and 1 male, as you need to identify that L1 male with high mag DIC (I am no expert on larval males, maybe you can use a marker). Then, I guess you could use fer-1(hc1) hermaphrodites and observe the number of ‘females’ that have fertilized eggs…

I guess you could extrapolate the data from Jonathan Hodgkin’s (excuse the pun) seminal paper on male mating efficiency:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1202023/pdf/43.pdf

with the caveat that he was testing mutant males. The mating efficiency seemed to be relatively robust!

Steve

Steve,
I feel you’re letting the side down if you link to Hodgkin on maximal male mating capability and don’t link to the Worm Breeder’s Gazette article that features Mr. Vigorous and describes his memorialization.

Excellent find! I wonder if the Stanford males (including Mr. Vigorous) were more successful than the Bristol guys because they were less distracted from the job at hand by requests for a candlelit dinner, bunches of flowers or having to say how good the hermaphrodite looked in her new dress?