Infection model with Pseudomonas aeruginosa

Hi,

I am new around here and have just started working on C elegans last month. I have some questions on using C elegans as infection model with P. aeruginosa. As I am a complete novice in the field of C elegans, I will greatly appreciate any help! Thanks!!

My main sources of reference are here:
http://www.wormbook.org/chapters/www_strainmaintain/strainmaintain.html
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9892699

I am intending to infect C elegans (N2 wild type strain) with PAO1 P. aeruginosa. However, I found that the infection was not successful. Furthermore, I seems to obtain very few worms at the end of my protocol.

Briefly, my protocol is as follows,

1. Wash worm off NGM plates and treat with bleach:NaOH to obtain synchronized eggs
  2. Culture overnight in M9 buffer at 16˚C
  3. Spin down and resuspend worms in S basal and add in P. aeruginosa pellet.
  4. Incubate at 16˚C for 3 days.
  5. Spin down and move worms onto agar plate, then observe with dissecting microscope.

My questions are,

1. Is there any effective ways to infect the worms with P. aeruginosa? And how do I verify that the infection was successful?
  2. How do I tell if a worm is dead? I can’t seems to observe any dead worms on my agar plates. Do the worm cannibalize on the dead worms?
  3. Is there any way I can increase my yield of worms from synchronization? I only obtained about 20 worms at the end of the protocol. I believe some might be lost during the spinning down and resuspending. What is the optimal centrifuge force and time to use when pelleting the worms?
  4. Also, for maintenance of the worms, can they be stored at 4˚C?

Sorry if my questions are too novice. Thank you for taking time to read this!