Immunoprecipiation

Hi guys!
I’ve run into a problem and seek your advice.
I have done an IP but the problem is that two proteins I’m looking at, both have antibodies raised in the same animal, i.e rabbit.
and I get considerable backgroung on the blot after developing with ECL, such that it is difficult for me to identify my band of interest among so many.
Is there a way around to improve on that?

So, let me get this straight: you’re immunoprecipitating using a rabbit antibody, and you need to examine the immunoprecipitated proteins using another rabbit antibody?

I’ve no relevant practical experience, but it sounds to me like you’ll struggle to avoid background if you detect the second antibody using a secondary anti-rabbit antibody. Still, purely on a theoretical basis, a couple of options arise:

1. I assume you’re immunoprecipitating using protein A agarose or something of the sort. If instead you were to covalently link the first rabbit antibody to beads, and rinse those beads really well before use, then elute your precipitate from the beads with a denaturant (leaving the first antibody still covalently bound), you might reduce your background enough.
  2. There are options for detection other than using a secondary anti-rabbit antibody. Back in the day you might iodinate the second antibody, but I think nowadays we’ve better, far safer options. Perhaps if you were to biotinylate the second antibody? Or to directly link it to peroxidase?

have you already tried reducing the amount of primary antibodies you are using or increasing the buffer stringency to get a better S/N ratio? This might at least give you a fighting chance of seeing the two bands that are important.

Hi HillelSchwartz,
you got it right… my immunoprecipitating antibody as well as my immunodetecting antibody, both are raised in rabbit
and I am using anti-rabbit IgG as my secondary antibody on the western blot.