Mitochondria localization Addgene pPD96.32

Hi,
I would like to use the fire vector pPD96.32, which is said to have a gfp and mitochondrial leader sequence. However, on the addgene map of this plasmid (Addgene pPD96_32 - Sequence Analyzer), the mitochondria leader sequence is not annotated. Has anyone used this plasmid and knows what the sequence is or does anyone know how I can figure this out?
Thanks,
Isabel (I am a novice at cloning, so any advice is welcome)

This isn’t tremendously helpful, but back before Addgene, back before there were annotated maps available, I would look at the documentation for the Fire vector kits and then with that as a guide I would directly compare the sequences of related plasmids to see what elements had been inserted to make a different version, and to see what restriction enzymes were used for the insertion. In this case you could compare the sequences of PD95.75 and PD96.32 (which are the same except for the mitochondrial localization tag), find the sequence unique to PD96.32, look to see what restriction sites border it (look for a 6 nucleotide sequence that’s the same after reverse-complementation), and BLAST the unique sequence to see where it came from and what was added to it to insert it in the plasmid.

Hi Isabel,

A few days ago I had the same problem as you, but I think I managed to figure out the sequence.
If I got it right, the annotation that is shown on the Addgene webpage is for both MTS (Mitochondria Targeting Sequence) and GFP (you can see it in a sequence view mode).
In such a case first 29 aa, or 87 bp, is the MTS (sequence: atggcactcctgcaatcacgtctcctgctatccgcacctcgtcgtgccgctgcaactgcaagagcttcatccgtaccggtagaaaaa). MTS, after import into the mitochondria, should be cleaved off after 16th aa by MPP.
The rest, based on the amino acid sequence, is GFP. Although I don’t know why it shows TAA stop codon after 163 aa…