Science Fair Project/General Procedure Questions

I’m a high school student looking to do a science fair project dealing with Parkinson’s Disease and C. elegans. Since I am unfamiliar with working with worms, I was hoping that you guys could answer some of my questions:

1. What is the purpose of washing worms?
  2. What is the purpose of adding CaCl2, MgSO4, KH2PO4, cholesterol, and ethanol to Nematode Growth Agar (NGA)? What about Ampicillin in LB broth?
  3. Can Lewy-bodies form in wild-type C. elegans or only in mutant types?
  4. How should I transport worms from one location to another (ie from school to a university lab) without harming them?
  5. Would it be possible to standardize the amount of bacteria on a plate?
  6. If I were to expose the worms to nicotine, how would I do that and what amount would be appropriate?
  7. What are some good websites to visit for general info?

Thanks!
~jingsee~

Others can give you advice on how to administer nicotine to the worms. I’m thinking it could be included in the agar pad in a fixed percentage, and/or in the bacterial food that you seed on top. You might vary the percentage to see what effects you can get in terms of behavior, growth, or pathology. A good place to start.

Lewy bodies are well defined for vertebrate brain, but to my knowledge they have not been described in any invertebrate tissue. They were first described by transmission electron microscopy (TEM) as inclusions in dying brain cells. You may be able to find a stain for Lewy bodies that could be tried for light microscopy? I’m not sure. Try a literature search with Google to find such a stain? Some of these stains may be toxic, and require careful handling of the solutions. It may be easier and safer to stain the live worms, or you can learn to “fix” them (kill them) first before staining. Here again, the fixative solutions also require careful handling, as many are toxic to humans too.