unc-119 bombardment

Hi all,
I am trying to bombard unc-119 worms with my plasmid construct. I am very new to bombardment, have never done it before. I have few concerns regarding
growing worms and maintaining them.

1)I started with HT1593 worms, grew them on large (10cm plate) enriched peptone plates with streptomycin and fungizone (this was to avoid contamination).
The problem I am facing is that my worms are dying after 4-5 days on the recovery plates. So I have big trouble getting rescued worms as 95% of them die. I
cannot find the reason for this.

2)I was feeding them HB101 bacteria. I observed that on the 2-3 days of putting the bombarded worms on the recovery plates a thick and hard layer forms all
over the plates and soon the worms start to die.

3)the plates also smell really bad. Thinking that HB101 is the problem I started feeding them OP50, but this time also they died.

Till now I have bombarded worms 3 times and all 3 times they died. I could get very few rescued worms, but none of them gave me the transgenic line.
I am really having a hard time maintaining them after bombarding.

Also recently my unc-119 worms (not bombarded) are also showing the same problem. I can not propagate them from 1 plate to 6 plates because they too are
dying.

Has anyone experienced this kind of difficulty while bombarding? any suggestion will be really helpful for me.
Thanks.

I observed that on the 2-3 days of putting the bombarded worms on the recovery plates a thick and hard layer forms all over the plates and soon the worms start to die.
This is not something that happens with either OP50 or HB101. I recommend that you streak out HB101 from frozen stocks, use a single colony to prepare broth and spot some plates, clean your unc-119 strain (by bleaching gravid animals for clean eggs outside the lawn on one of the plates with clean HB101), and repeat the process making sure to eliminate possible sources of contamination.