Yeast Lipid Conference 2024, Saarland University, Homburg, Germany

We are excited to announce the 16th Yeast Lipid Conference to take place in Homburg, Germany from the 29th – 31st of May 2024. The conference will start on Wednesday 29th in the afternoon (to allow for traveling and signing in on the same day) and will end with a get-together/party on Friday night. Save the date!

The YLC is an international meeting that has been tremendously successful in bringing together yeast lipid enthusiasts from around the world. While we are in the process of setting up the conference homepage, you can have a look at previous events from this series at and

A unique focus and open attitude make this conference particularly suitable for exchanging ideas, initiating collaborations, and -especially in the case of trainees- identifying a suitable lab for the ‘next step’. Traditionally, the YLC features cutting-edge technologies and a variety of scientific disciplines such as cell biology, biochemistry, bioanalytics, biotechnology, and biomedicine to foster discussions and scientific exchange.

We have an exciting line-up of confirmed speakers:

Verena Siewers, Chalmers university of Technology, Sweden

Itay Budin, University of California San Diego, USA

Mario Moriel-Carretero, Centre de Recherche en Biologie Cellulaire de Montpellier, France

Stefano Vanni, Université de Fribourg, Switzerland

Florian Fröhlich, University of Osnabrück, Germany

Sabrina Büttner, University of Stockholm, Sweden

Peng Xu, Guangdong Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Maria Bohnert, University of Münster, Germany

Steve Kelley, Swansea University, England

… and there are more to come!

We are happy that Benoit Kornmann, University of Oxford, will deliver the Keynote lecture.

Given the successful history of the YLC as a job fair, we highly encourage to bring your students and PostDocs to this event.

Finally, please feel free to share this announcement with others you think may be interested in the YLC.

See you in Homburg very soon!

All the best,

on behalf of the organizing committee

Mike Renne & Robert Ernst